SIP – 6. work in process

After the Crit, I realized that I missed a lot form my current work, here are the notes from class, the primary question was my goal and my angle. I spent a whole day trying to figure it out, but I know what I want to present, but I could not put it on words. I decided to make instead of just thinking, I looked back to the exhibitions and artists, noted down the points that attracted me.

img003img002

I was suggested to focus on facial expression because that can be more obvious when I was showing the emotion. I began to drew lots, lots of faces, some are on the paper, some are done on the iPad, I also combine two or more facial expressions in one. It was fun to work with, then I made few in more realism style, although I know I did not do good at it. I was getting familiar with the faces, and different emotion makes me think of doing a gif or sculpture that captures the particular facial expression, which is strong and express my word.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think in term of my word, I want to express my negative feelings, and I want people to understand.
I did drawings from those inspirations. Like this one below, I drew from Coralie Vogelaar’s work. That is holes on the face, but I see it more like something covered the face, like there is another layer on the top. I began to have thought of making a blurry image that the audience needs to be concentrated to see the face behind marks, A breakdown face that hides behind messy marks. I made a line drawing first then I create the coloured one which I think is my favourite. Personally, I feel sad and sympathy every time I see it.

img005

IMG_3339IMG_3340

Visan Stefan was another artist I discovered on Instagram. He made a similar image, but without the face, he used words or pigment to covered it up. Although the face is gone, the whole atmosphere has perfectly shown. I created some collage works from his style, which was fun but I could not take it further, maybe I just not that keen on collage, or perhaps I did not have that much idea to develop it.

img006img017img018img021

Leave a comment